Removing Your Financially Emotional Baggage

In our society, money is usually tied to an emotion. If you are wealthy, it is tied to good emotions. If you are not wealthy, it is usually tied to bad emotions. If your feelings of money are tied to not-so-good emotions, this can be damaging to your self-esteem. If you have more negative ties to money, then I would put my money on the fact (not really) that you have tons of emotional baggage.

This post is to help you get past that so without further ado, I present “Three Ways to Work Past Your Financially Emotional Baggage”. Enjoy!

Three Ways to Work Past Your Financially Emotional Baggage

1. Pack light.

If it doesn’t have anything to do with you, don’t pick it up – especially if “picking it up” will mean damaging consequences later on. In a past life, my inability to pack light meant I would have to figure out how to make my extra limited dollars stretch to make sure I was “okay” after helping someone else out. Think of the times that your generosity meant that you covered a loved one’s bill or tab because they promise to pay you back and they don’t. In these instances, you should pack light by doing this on a more limited basis.

2. Make “No.” Your Friend

No is a powerful word and assists you in packing light. This tiny word has the ability to stop people in their tracks, yet a lot of us who have money problems have issues with using it. The reason we need to get over our hang ups about being seen as the “bxtch” or the “Scrooge” has more to do with our mental well-being than the damaging financial impact. If you ever think, “I can’t say no to this! I love this person too much!” just remember how “unloved” you feel when they don’t pay you back. Say no.

3. Be honest!

Honesty is the best policy and for good reason. To really get clear about why you behave the way you do when it comes to money, you have to be honest about why you spend the money. That means getting honest about how you feel when you spend the money AND they type of solution you are looking for when you do it. Looking back on my less-than-honest moments, I now understand money was my crutch to feel better and signal that I could buy nice things when I wanted. Honestly recognizing the way I’m feeling in a moment leads to me only spending money when I feel absolutely great when my mind is clear.

That’s it! Three (not so) simple steps to removing emotional baggage when it comes to your finances. Remember that working on a new mindset takes time, so you shouldn’t get too down on yourself if you slip up and act upon a deeply embedded impulse (habit).

What are some ways you find yourself lessening your emotional baggage?

2 thoughts on “Removing Your Financially Emotional Baggage

Leave a Reply

