Sometimes I Just Stop Reading

Here’s a little secret of mine – I love a GREAT story where the underdog conquers a seemingly impossible feat and triumphs over a beast that no one else was able to defeat. It’s why Hercules was one of my favorite movies growing up and why Mulan was so kickass.

It’s also why I love a great I paid off my student loan debt story.

But what kills me is that nine times out of ten, I actually can’t relate to the people who are spotlighted in the post. Most of the time, I’m left wondering why they had student loans in the first place. As a woman who spent a great majority of her childhood either in homeless shelters or couch-surfing in loved ones’ homes, I find myself shaking my head at a LOT of the posts that will give you “ten easy steps to get rid of debt. But I always tell myself that I will be able to find a nugget of wisdom and that is usually the case. Thankfully.

This post was inspired by four pieces I read yesterday. For every hypothetical question that the author asked, I found myself saying “No.” In the beginning, I kept muttering to myself, “I can’t really relate to your struggles of imaginary poverty,” but then something clicked.

Struggling with money has nothing to do with how you spend and everything to do with your understanding of how it works. That’s the whole reason there is a BOOMING industry that focuses on helping people get out from under their crushing debt and it’s the premise of (my now favorite financial) literacy book, Rich Dad, Poor Dad, by Robert Kiyosaki.

The more I read, the more questions I have. The more questions I have, the more I read. What that (unfortunately) means for some of my favorite blogs is that sometimes I just stop reading the posts. While they make me feel good (remember I love a great story), they lack the information that really speaks to people like me – formerly poor kids with great degrees and not so great careers who don’t have rich uncles.

Hopefully, this blog starts to help more of you who are like me by offering (1) explanations for how things work and (2) practical steps that you can relate to.

In the event that you ever find yourself not reading material all the way through, I hope you let me know.

-Fellow Underdog Slaying the Debt Giant

Leave a Reply

