Financial Intentions for 2014

The tumultuous year of 2013 is quickly winding down. That means it is time to give some serious thought to what you want to accomplish in 2014, if you haven’t already. Since this is a blog that focuses on my finances and goal of getting (and staying) out of debt, I’ve decided to share my financial goals here.

Financial Intentions for 2014

  1. MAJOR: Pay off my remaining student loan debt by 33%. This goal is HUGE, seeing as I have over $100,000 remaining in debt. To my surprise though, there has been some interest in this series I plan to have in January. If you’re interested, sign up here.
  2. MAJOR: Save $5,000 for the entire year. This is maybe the one goal that I want to stick to. I’ve always set a goal to save a particular amount of money and it never worked out. However, I’ve made the decision that I’m prioritizing my self and my needs above others. I’m sure this will be very beneficial.
  3. MAJOR: No overdraft notices on my accounts. I’m a bit ashamed to admit that when I looked back over my account and where most of my money went, it was to overdraft notices. This year, I’m taking extra protective measures to make sure it doesn’t happen again. 12 months of no overdraft charges? I know I can do it.
  4. Minor: Pay my bills a week early. While it’s something I don’t have to do, I wonder if I’ll notice anything change in my financial habits because of it.
  5. Minor: Adopt a family for the Holiday Season in 2014. I want to find a family and adopt them from Thanksgiving on through Christmas. Ambitious? I know but it’s something that I’ve always wanted to do since I was once the recipient of a stranger’s kindness.

So there you have it! My five Financial Intentions for 2014.

What are your financial intentions for the upcoming year?

3 thoughts on “Financial Intentions for 2014

Leave a Reply

